Differences between Self-Governing First Nations and Indian Act Bands

Many of Canada's First Nation communities are still governed by the *Indian Act*, and are referred to as Bands. This means that their reserve lands, monies, other resources and governance structure are managed by the provisions in the *Indian Act*. In the Yukon however, the majority of First Nations are self-governing. Self-Governing Yukon First Nations direct their own affairs, and for the most part, the *Indian Act* no longer applies to them, their Citizens, or to settlement land. The following is a brief comparison of the differences between *Indian Act* Bands and Self-Governing Yukon First Nations.

Indian Act Bands:

- Only three Yukon First Nations remain under the Indian Act.
- ▶ The *Indian Act* applies to members of a Band, who have "status."
- Land that is provided for use and benefit of the Band cannot be owned by the Band or individual members.
- Core funding for the Band is determined by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.
- The Band government is accountable to the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

Self-Governing Yukon First Nations

- ► There are eleven Self-Governing Yukon First Nations.
- The *Indian Act* no longer applies to the First Nation or its Citizens (although individual citizens may still be entitled to "status" under the Act).
- ▶ The First Nation's land is owned and managed by the First Nation government.
- The First Nation sets its own priorities and its election process is defined by its Constitution.
- ▶ The First Nation has the ability to tax its Citizens and other residents.

The Self-Governing Yukon First Nations are: Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, Teslin Tlingit Council, Selkirk First Nation, Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation, Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in, Ta'an Kwach'an Council, Kluane First Nation, Kwanlin Dün First Nation, Carcross/Tagish First Nation

The Indian Act Bands in the Yukon are: White River First Nation, Ross River Dena Council and Liard First Nation.



